Skip to content
Angus Counts — Angus, in numbers.Local help →

Angus, in numbers

People and living standards

Angus council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Angus council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 108,400 in 1991 to 114,610 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Angus council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 110,570 people in 1996; 114,610 people in 2025. 3.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Angus council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991108,400
1992109,900
1993110,910
1994111,550
1995111,560
1996110,570
1997110,000
1998109,790
1999109,560
2000108,850
2001108,370
2002108,810
2003108,700
2004110,170
2005111,340
2006112,500
2007113,540
2008114,490
2009114,830
2010115,410
2011116,200
2012116,110
2013116,170
2014116,550
2015116,870
2016116,450
2017116,090
2018115,610
2019115,530
2020114,990
2021114,950
2022114,670
2023115,100
2024114,930
2025114,610
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Angus council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,841 people in 1996; 17,556 people in 2025. 19.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Angus council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,514
199221,795
199322,081
199422,199
199522,089
199621,841
199721,570
199821,343
199921,197
200020,755
200120,377
200220,377
200320,298
200420,469
200520,652
200620,755
200720,659
200820,615
200920,516
201020,391
201120,212
201219,886
201319,643
201419,519
201519,487
201619,254
201719,123
201819,010
201918,929
202018,705
202118,414
202218,261
202318,184
202417,876
202517,556
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Angus council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 69,753 people in 1996; 66,675 people in 2025. 4.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Angus council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199168,637
199269,614
199370,169
199470,625
199570,571
199669,753
199769,432
199869,344
199969,220
200068,791
200168,382
200268,618
200368,340
200469,389
200570,031
200670,808
200771,569
200872,057
200972,020
201072,311
201172,755
201272,003
201371,564
201471,404
201571,322
201670,728
201770,191
201869,376
201968,866
202068,308
202168,134
202267,601
202367,693
202467,292
202566,675
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Angus council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,976 people in 1996; 30,379 people in 2025. 60.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Angus council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,249
199218,491
199318,660
199418,726
199518,900
199618,976
199718,998
199819,103
199919,143
200019,304
200119,611
200219,815
200320,062
200420,312
200520,657
200620,937
200721,312
200821,818
200922,294
201022,708
201123,233
201224,221
201324,963
201425,627
201526,061
201626,468
201726,776
201827,224
201927,735
202027,977
202128,402
202228,808
202329,223
202429,762
202530,379
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 114,284 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Angus · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total111,84697.9%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 115,978 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Angus · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White114,27998.5%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller1890.2%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group2640.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian1630.1%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani2660.2%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi170%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese2640.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian2110.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British2000.2%
Other Ethnic Group1250.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 7.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Angus council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,650 per person in 1997; £23,910 per person in 2024. 124.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Angus council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,650
199810,810
199911,072
200011,970
200112,644
200213,033
200313,101
200413,562
200513,754
200614,091
200715,002
200815,996
200915,709
201015,745
201116,024
201216,400
201317,238
201417,755
201518,226
201618,407
201718,532
201819,070
201919,513
202019,144
202119,596
202220,883
202322,100
202423,910
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Angus council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 0.4% in 1997; -7.9% in 2024. 8.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Angus council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19970.4
1998-0.2
1999-2.1
20000.6
20012.2
20023
20030.5
2004-0.1
2005-2.2
2006-3.8
2007-2.2
20081.6
2009-1.9
2010-2.5
2011-1.7
2012-2.9
2013-1.6
2014-1.8
2015-4.2
2016-4.4
2017-5.9
2018-6.6
2019-7.4
2020-8.8
2021-10.3
2022-9.1
2023-9.6
2024-7.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Angus council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Angus council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£178,000

July 2026 · Angus council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.